Monday, December 7, 2015


DCNHS wins Ist Aliwan sa Dagupan Dance Parade

DAGUPAN CITY – An estimated 4,000 people, composed of students, their families, civic groups, non-government organizations, volunteer groups, national government agencies and city hall employees, joined the Happy City, Happy Family Grand Civic parade marking the opening day of the 2015 City Fiesta on December 4.
Mayor Belen T. Fernandez and 2015 City Fiesta Hermano Mayor Jose Netu Tamayo led the parade along the downtown loop that culminated in front of the Dagupan City Museum.
Dagupan City’s newly acquired ambulance, fire trucks, coaster, speed boats, and two big trucks were also showcased in the parade, also participated in by members of the Dagupan Police Station, Bureau of Fire Protection and Bureau of Jail Management and Penology  and the Boy Scouts of the Philippines.
The Dagupan City National High School (DCNHS) was adjudged the grand winner in the parade dancing competition, bagging the grand prize of P30,000, and another P10,000 for earning the Biggest Delegation award.
Bonuan Boquig National High School placed second, and Pugaro Integrated School, third.
It was also in that occasion when the first official marching song entitled “Balon Kabuasan” was sang  in public for the first time by the combined Balon Dagupan Childrens Choir, Balon Dagupan Government Chorale and the DCNHS Voices of the Youth Choir.
A resolution was already passed by the Sangguniang Panlungsod officially declaring "Balon Kabuasan" Hmyn as the city’s official marching hymn to complement the Dagupan Hymn.
“Balon Kabuasan” is another patriotic composition of Rex Catubig who also composed the Dagupan Hymn while Frederick Narvas made the musical arrangement of the song.
The Balon Dagupan Youth Orchestra also made their maiden performance in public under the baton of Philippine PhilHarmonic Orchestra bassoonist Adolfo ‘Pong’ Mendoza and the performance of the Balon Dagupan Childrens Choir which will be competing on December 8-9 in Manila under the guidance of Virginia Llamas Mendoza.
The ceremony ended up with the lighting of the giant Christmas Tree alongside the fireworks display and the singing of "Ang Pasko ay Sumapit" led by Mayor Belen, Tamayo, councilors Alfie Serafin Fernandez, Marvin Fabia, Alvin Coquia, Marcelino Fernandez, Carlos Liberato Reyna IV, former City Mayor Alipio F. Fernandez Jr. and guests including Fe Mejia-Vidal, Riisa Vargas, Dennis Canto and Mark Brian Tan. (Joseph C. Bacani/CIO)

No comments:

Post a Comment