Sunday, July 10, 2016

SP elects standing committee chairs

DAGUPAN CITY – The new Sangguiang Panlungsod (SP) has elected the chairmen of different standing committees but defers the approval of its internal rules till the next session on July 12.

Witnessed by the members of the Manlingkor ya Kalangweran, the SP elected Councilor Maybelyn dela Cruz Fernandez as majority floor leader with Councilor Alvin Coquia as assistant majority floor leader; Councilor Jeslito “Jigs” Seen as SP Presiding Protempore and Jose Netu Tamayo as deputy presiding pProtempore.

Councilor Red Erfe Mejia was elected minority floor leader with Councilor Chito Samson as assistant minority leader.

Seen will also chair the following committees: Agriculture and Fisheries, Appropriations,  Arts, Culture and Heritage,  Environment and Natural Resources, Senior Citizens Affairs, and Economic Affairs.

Councilor Dennis Canto was elected as chairman of the committees on Health and Sanitation and Public Market.

Tamayo will chair the committees on Dangerous Drugs, Education, Land Utilization, Public Information and Media, Laws, Ordinances and Judiciary, and Peace and Order while Councilor Marvin Fabia will chair the Local and International Relations and the Housing and Urban Development.

Coquia was elected as chairman of the committees on Tourism, Trade and Industry, Youth and Sports Development, Transportation and Public Utilities, and Public Works and Infrastructure, while Liga ng mga Barangay President Lino Fernandez takes the Barangay Affairs committee.

Fernandez is also the chair of the committees on Rules and Procedure, Women, Children and Family Affairs; Labor and Employment, and Social Welfare and Community Development.

Aside from being the minority floor leader, Mejia was elected to chair the committee on Cooperative and Livelihood Development; Population and Demography, Poverty Alleviation, and People’s Participation.

“Just like in any other political organization the purpose of the legislative body is to push the agenda of the Executive and so most of the chairmanships were taken by the majority. This is the privilege of the majority. This is not a tyranny of the majority because this is not illegal,” explained Tamayo, a lawyer. (Joseph C. Bacani/CIO)

No comments:

Post a Comment