Monday, September 21, 2015


DAGUPAN CITY – Mayor Belen T. Fernandez formally received the Seal of Good Local Governance for Dagupan City from the Department of Interior and Local Government in a Conferment Ceremony at Oasis Country Resort and Hotel in San Fernando City, La Union on September  16. 

Dagupan, along with 40 other Local Government  Units in Pangasinan, passed  all the core and essential criteria for the coveted award such as good financial housekeeping, disaster preparedness and social protection, business friendly and competitive LGU, peace and order and environmental management  with high ratings.

Six of the nine cities in the region were conferred with the SGLG. These are the cities of Laoag, Vigan, San Fernando, Alaminos, San Carlos and Dagupan.

Of the four provinces, only the provinces of Ilocos Norte and Pangasinan are SGLG awardees.

Sixteen of 44 municipalities of Pangasinan namely Alcala, Basista, Bautista, Bayambang, Binalonan, Bugallon, Burgos, Dasol, Laoac, Mabini, Malasiqui, Mangaldan, San Fabian, Sta. Maria, Sto. Tomas and Sual also received their respective SGLGs.

Risa Hontiveros, PhilHealth Director and Akbayan Party chair, who delivered the message of former Interior and Local Government Secretary Mar Roxas, encouraged the LGUs to continue with the “daang matuwid” program and never take good governance for granted.

DILG Region 1 Officer-In-Charge Director Julie J. Daquioag confirmed that in the whole country, Region 1 recorded the most number of SGLG awardees.

The awardees also received the Performance Challenge Fund (PCF) of P7 million for the provinces, P5 million for the cities and P3 million for the municipalities to be used by them for their respective priority projects.  (Joseph C. Bacani/CIO/Sept. 16, 2015)

No comments:

Post a Comment