Thursday, July 11, 2013

First regular session of 8th SP highlights 3 impt. events

Lingayen- - -The first regular session of the 8th Sangguniang Panlalawigan on July 8, was highlighted with the inaugural message of Vice Governor Jose Ferdinand Z. Calimlim, Jr., the confirmation of three department heads, and approval of two provincial resolutions. Vice Governor Calimlim in his brief but meaningful message urged all members of the august body and the entire provincial government to “collectively begin” another three-year term with continuance of teamwork and shared pursuit towards making Pangasinan truly Number One. “We are all gathered here in this hall for the greater good of our beloved province and for the millions of Pangasinenses in which a great majority supported us that led us once more to continue serving them,” he said. Meanwhile, with the presence of twelve members of the board excluding the vice governor, Provincial Resolution No. 2-2013 and Provincial Resolution No. 3-2013 were approved. Provincial Resolution No. 2-2013 authorizes the governor to enter into a memorandum of agreement (MOA) with the National Food Authority (NFA) Pangasinan branches on rice loan program of the province for relief operations whenever state of calamity is declared by the President or the provincial board and for stockpiling in preparation for eventualities or emergencies that may occur at any given time. Provincial Resolution No. 3-2013, on the other hand, authorizes the governor to enter into a memorandum of agreement with the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR) for the implementation of the Fisheries Industry Enhancement Program in the province of Pangasinan. Both resolutions will serve beneficial for Pangasinenses especially the latter resolution that aims to uplift the fishing industry of the province specifically the two fish production areas namely aquaculture and fishing sites. Aside from this, three key officials of the province who occupies co-terminus positions were once again confirmed by the members of the board for another three- year tenure as department heads. The three officials who were lauded for their untiring support for the present administration were Provincial Administrator Rafael Howard F. Baraan, Provincial Legal Officer Geraldine U. Baniqued , and Public Information Officer Orpheus M. Velasco. (PIO/Ruby R. Bernardino)

No comments:

Post a Comment