Sunday, December 8, 2013


DAGUPAN CITY – The 31 newly elected and re-elected punong barangays and the 217 barangay kagawads here were formally sworn into office by former House Speaker Jose C. De Venecia Jr. in a ceremony held at the People’s Astrodome last November 30.
Witnessing the occasion were Mayor Belen T. Fernandez, who delivered her welcome remarks; Congresswoman Georgina P. De Venecia, as the guest of honor and speaker; some members of the Sangguniang Panlungsod – Councilors Jeslito C. Seen, Alipio Serafin D. Fernandez, Marvin D. Fabia, Jose Netu M. Tamayo, Alvin T. Coquia and Guillermo P. Vallejos; some department heads led by City Administrator Farah Marie G. Decano and former city mayor Alipio F. Fernandez Jr.
The mayor formally welcomed the new set of barangay officials in the city to the fold of BalonDagupan.
“Election is over. Whatever divided our barangays is now water under the bridge. It is now time to forge unity so that we achieve the vision we all want our beloved city to be. This is what preciselyBalon Dagupan stands for. Bridging the communities, bringing the government closer to our people,” said Fernandez.
She disclosed that the bridge built by the former speaker will be a living symbol of her trust of bridging the gap between the rich and the poor, of forging unity in the city and of bringing the services to the people.
“We are using this bridge as our iconic symbol because of its importance to the future of our growth stretching from Lucao all the way to the Bonuan area. This in honor of the person who made this strategic project possible which all Dagupeños can be proud of, speaker Joe De Venecia,” explained Fernandez.
The mayor announced that her regular consultation in the barangay will push through and that the barangay’s share in the real property tax is now available at her office.
Fernandez also encouraged the barangay officials to use their P100 fund in resolving the waste problem in their respective area.
She is also giving each barangay money for the Belen making contest in the barangays.
“Ang mananalo ay tatanggap ng P100,000. Ang second prize ay P70,000 at ang third prize ay P20,000. Ang awarding ay gaganapin during the barangay night” conluded Fernandez. 

No comments:

Post a Comment