Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Dagupan welcomes Palaro delegates

DAGUPAN CITY – A warm welcome was staged by the city for the Palarong Pambansa 2012 delegates from Region III and the National Capital Region (NCR) during the sports fest’s Mayor’s Night at the City Plaza last May 3.
Hundreds of athletes from the two regions billeting in three schools here got to feel the hospitality of the city in accommodating them for the games which runs from May 6 -11 as hosted by the Pangasinan for the second time.
Athletes from Region III stay at Dagupan National High School while NCR delegates are housed in West Central Elementary School I & II.
The father of the city, Mayor Benjamin S. Lim, addressed the delegates, reminding them that the athletic competition is not just about the virtue of winning but is a way of valuing preparation for and enduring life’s challenges.
Lim also advised the players to be mindful of their opponents especially the Dagupeños and Pangasinenses as they are equally zealous to win every game.
“Make Dagupan City your home!” he told the Palaro participants.
Following Lim was Dr. Teresita Velasco, Department of Education (DepEd)-Region I director, who also welcomed the participants.
Also heard were Dr. Isabelita Borres, DepEd-Region III director; Dr. Noime Bellocillo, representing DepEd-NCR; and Pangasinan 5th District Board Members Salvador Perez Jr. and Clemente Arboleda Jr., who both received the delegates in behalf of the provincial government.
Aside from free dinner, the Palaro delegates enjoyed musical numbers from the Governor Amado T. Espino Jr.-owned ensemble Banda ni A.T.E and WEST I as well as dance performances from recently crowned Binibining Bilbilin Dagupan winners and this year’s Bangus Festival Danziklaban champ North Syndicate.
The Dagupan City National High School Teachers Choir gave the doxology and their rendition of the Dagupan and Pangasinan hymns.
Joining Lim in receiving the participants were City Administrator Vlad Mata, DepEd-Dagupan Superintendent Alma Ruby Torio and Councilors Red Erfe-Mejia, Ma. Librada Fe Reyna and Alvin Coquia. (CIO

No comments:

Post a Comment